Board of Trustees

Governance is provided by 28 member Board of Directors, including an 8 member Executive Committee and a 20 member Board of Trustees. Our leadership is comprised of local volunteers who are responsible for setting policies, the organizational operating budget, and for overseeing the direction of United Way of Southwest Alabama.



Executive Committee:

Board Chairman 

Charles Hyland  Director, Mobile Area Water & Sewer System


Vice Chair/Campaign Chairman

Merceria Ludgood Mobile County Commissioner, District One


Secretary/Governance Chair 

Leida Javier-Ferrell Director of Business Development & External Affairs, Netpoint IT-Services, Inc.


Treasurer/Finance Chair 

John Anderson Senior Vice President, Regions Bank


Audit Chair

Erin S. Jones CPA, Wilkins Miller, LLC


Labor Chair 

Rick Lambert  Southwest Alabama Labor Council


Community Impact Chair 

Beth Thomas  External Affairs Manager, Alabama Power Company


Immediate Past Chair 

Mark Fillers South Alabama Market President, Renasant Bank


Past Chair/Strategic Planning Chair

Don Keeler Vice President of Human Resources, Austal 


Executive Committee Members

Celia Collins – Attorney, Johnstone Adams

Sydney Raine – President, Southwest Alabama Partnership for Training & 



Elected Trustees:

Donald L. Adams – Business Manager,  I.B.E.W. Local 505

Shearie Archer – Executive Director, Ozanam Charitable Pharmacy

Brent Barkin – President, Shoe Station

Raymond L. Bell, Jr. – Attorney, Bell Law Firm

Walter Brand – Senior Vice President, Servis1st Bank

Rev. Jim DuFriend – Community Volunteer

Karl Ficken  – President, Spire Energy-Mobile

Todd Greer – Dean of School of Business, The University of Mobile

J. Guy Helmsing  – Senior Vice President & Market President, Hancock Bank

Bo Mattei – President, Thames Batre’ Insurance

Martha L. Peek – Superintendent, Mobile County Public School System

Dr. Reginald Sykes – President, Bishop State Community College

William B. Sisson – President  & CEO, Mobile Area Chamber of Commerce

Jeff St. Clair – President, Springhill Medical Center

David Trent – Site Director, Airbus Americas Engineering

Jean Walker Tucker – Senior University Attorney, University of South Alabama

Dr. Tony Waldrop – President, University of South Alabama

{Ex Officio} Clifford Grimes – UWSWA President & CEO


Emeritus Trustees

Sarah L. Damson

Tom Hinds

G. Russell Ladd, III

Ronald B. Melton

James T. Robson

Robert J. Williams